Google Maps

Our Third task of Convergent media was to use Google maps to create an interactive map of:

  • The journey from my house to the university
  • The journey I have made in the UK from abroad
  • A map of my hometown

For these topic, Google maps will be a way of identifying the locations which will be embedded into my blog in order to formulate both sites for two purposes just as seen in the discussion about mash-ups.

Within the map, I must be able to use the tools effectively using them to outline and describe my locations.

Process

First of all, I had to build a Google account and then sign into my account.

After registering to Google, I was able to have my own account, which enabled me to go to maps and then my maps.

From my maps I was then able to create and save my maps and give them titles regarding what locations they show.

For my visual images, I borrowed a camera from the loan shop to take pictures, which I then uploaded on Flickr

Here are some of the images:

click this link to view images on Flickr

As for the videos that were included, I channelled them through YouTube. Here are the videos that I used

This video shows the directions from my home to th university. A short film which I created last term.

This video shows the Coventry Belgrade Theatre

and this video explore the surroundings of Coventry University.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment